What does “Talboys” Keevil conjure up? We had no idea what to expect, but the description in the Autumn magazine did not disappoint. Dating from the 15th Century, it is a timber framed hall house with wattle and daub panels, built of limestone ashlar, the roof stone tiled and gabled. It certainly looked old, but absolutely charming, and is said to be one of oldest properties in Wiltshire.
We walked through the massive entrance door through a passageway into the original gallery with vaulted roof. This is the family home of Mr. and Mrs. Mowbray, and there is all the paraphernalia that children leave around with, in contrast, living side by side, many objects d’art, that have been there for centuries.
On arrival, we were divided into two groups, one going around the house with the owner, and the other to the adjacent St. Leonard’s church built l4-16th Century, which has a Norman Sanctus bell.
You can say that “Talboys” is unique. It was built in two parts, one fireplace has the date AD 1450 and the other 1875 and the window tracery at the front was also renewed at this later time. The downstairs has many large rooms and upstairs 5/6 bedrooms. Log fires burned, while we later sampled a delicious tea of sandwiches and cake, shutting out the cold weather outside.
The village of Keevil is first mentioned in an Anglo Saxon document of 964 and the High Street of old houses would be an interesting place to explore further on a nice summer’s day.